ETIAS: New Travel Permit Required for Europe Travel Starting in 2024

Starting in 2024, Visa-exempt travellers will need to obtain a new travel permit in order to enter countries like France, Spain, Italy, and Portugal. This new permit, called the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), is a short-stay visa that will allow people to travel to any member of the Schengen Area for up to 90 days for tourism or business purposes.


European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System, or ETIAS, is an innovative electronic travel authorization system that will soon be implemented for travelers visiting the countries within the Schengen Zone in Europe. Designed to enhance security and streamline the entry process, ETIAS promises to revolutionize travel to Europe for millions of visitors from eligible countries. Let’s explore the key details of ETIAS and understand how it will shape the future of European travel.

Who Needs an ETIAS?

Citizens of countries that do not require a visa to enter the Schengen Area will need to obtain an ETIAS authorization. Some examples of these countries include the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, and many others.

>>> How to Apply for Schengen Visa From India

ETIAS Duration and Travel Flexibility

With the ETIAS, foreign travellers can spend a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period travelling throughout Europe. The ETIAS remains valid for three years, permitting multiple trips to Europe during this duration.

Cost of ETIAS

The ETIAS will cost around €7/£6 for people over 18, but minors and applicants over 70 can get it free of charge.

How to Apply for an ETIAS?

The application process for the ETIAS permits will be entirely electronic and can be completed online in just a few minutes. To apply, you will need to provide your personal information, travel details, and payment information.

  1. Visit the Official ETIAS Website
  2. Fill out the Online Application Form
  3. Answer Security and Health-related Questions
  4. Pay the Processing Fee
  5. Submit the Application

Once approved, your ETIAS authorization will be valid for multiple entries and a duration of three years or until your passport’s expiration, whichever comes first. You can travel to the Schengen countries within the authorized period without needing a Schengen Visa.

The ETIAS application website is not yet live, but it is expected to be launched in late 2023. You can find more information about the ETIAS and the application process on the European Commission website.

Reasons of Getting Denied

There are a few reasons why an ETIAS application might be denied. These include:

  • Having a criminal background
  • Posing a danger to society
  • Being on a travel watchlist about suspected terrorists
  • Providing fraudulent information during the application
  • Travelling from an area with an epidemic/pandemic outbreak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *